8 Comments
author

Thank you Rosie

Expand full comment

Great interview Julie.Absolutely fantastic.I'm much older than you.Suffered years of abuse and now also see my daughter with a perpetrator of coercion and abuse.But I will never stop fighting, never stop writing to harass MPs, politicians and never stop actively campaigning for feminism.The success of the Centre for Womens' Justice and the Sally Challen release was so inspiring particularly where I was in Scotland and amongst many women who'd suffered abuse.I am now on our local Domestic Abuse Forum and try to assist where I can.We had very serious grooming gang activity here ( Telford), and I always try and confront those who wish to 'shrug' it off with some argument.I am a writer too ( only self published), but wrote about the sexism in the British military and the exploitation happening in Iran when I worked there.My film and interview will be used in a Channel 4 documentary about the hostage Nazanin- Zaghairi Ratcliffe soon to be released.So I'm very pleased to have given some support and assistance here.It makes my abuse and life seem worthwhile too when listening to you.You have explained all this TERF stuff too Your book about prostitution is the ultimate and I always speak about it.( Did so last night on a zoom with Dr Jocelynne Scutt from Cambridge and a group of international academics).I would love to embrace you.These podcasts are superxx

Expand full comment

"This is what feminists have been told to do for decades." This encapsulates my feminism. After years of activism in the Labour Party, hearing men on the left tell us, "Yes, those issues are important, but we just need to sort this out first " There is ALWAYS something else first. Queer Ideology has given men on the left the excuse to hate women openly. It is, for misogynist men, what Brexit was for racists, so, all men in the left don't hate women, but those who do use trans rights to justify their hatred. Just as all Brexit voters weren't racists, but Brexit gave racists permission to vent their hatred. I'm more than ten years older than you, Julie, and I too believe that we are living through the most virulent misogyny in my lifetime. But my goodness, what amazons, warriors, women of courage, heart and intellect, like you, the other lunch women and many others, are at the vanguard of this rejuvenated women's liberation movement. You gladden our hearts and give us the will to continue this battle that we must win for our daughters and granddaughters. Thank you.

Expand full comment

Thanks for you for all you have done over the years. You have made such a positive contribution to so many women’s lives.

…As an aside, I can’t help noticing the irony in the title of the podcast, “Women with Balls”, given the Trans lobby wanting our society to accept men as women!

Expand full comment

This was wonderful, Julie. I truly believe that you have changed our world for the better with your decades long fight for women's liberation. Big hugs!

Expand full comment