2 Comments

I really enjoyed this debate. I think that you made the more convincing case by far. One of the things that I found most persuasive was that you were able to talk about firsthand discussions that you had had with real women about their experiences. Nolan seemed to be talking more about theories and free markets.

It was unclear to me whether Nolan was aware that you both agreed that the women who are prostituted should never be charged with a crime before the debate began. She spent a lot of time arguing this case which I felt was a waste of time given this was not an area of disagreement. Her arguments seemed to be tailored to American conservatives rather than left leaning feminists.

I was pleased to hear that some countries have adopted the Nordic model. This is something that I have supported for a while, but I did not realise that it had already been adopted in some countries. I clearly need to do more research and listening to this debate has prompted me to order some books!

Your anecdote about being sat between a Dutch man and a Swedish man on a plan was really interesting. It made me think about how a prostitution is regulated can have a broader impact in society and influence men’s attitudes to women in general. This is something I had not considered before.

It would have been interesting if the voting could have been between men and women. The audience clearly found it engaging judging by the number and nature of questions at the end.

Expand full comment