1 Comment

I remember the sadness I felt, as a Canadian teen when this happened. I also remember the relentless attempt by some to characterize the gunman as a sympathetic, sad, lonely guy, instead of the hateful misogynist that he was. If only women had been kinder to him.

My feminism was solidified in those days. And while I haven't found the ideology to be perfect, it is needed now as much as it ever has been.

We once again find ourselves in a place where a loud, vocal minority attempt to scream at us to "BE KIND" while they strip away women's rights in favour of, you guessed it, men. Those poor, helpless, oppressed darlings need to be front and center. Always.

Fuck that. No.

I'll never forget those young women, who paid the price. So the rest of us could wake up. RIP to them all.

Expand full comment