5 Comments

Really interesting response from Meghan. I feel like part of the problem here is labelling ourselves into groups where everyone has their own view of what that actually means. In my experience I agree with everyone on some things and no one on everything.

Are left and right even useful terms anymore given how relative they are and how much difference of opinion there is.

Expand full comment

Thank you for this thoughtful essay. I agree with you on most everything. I always thought I was extremely liberal and a staunch feminist. Religion never was a factor in my life, in fact being a woman, divine feminine was sort of my religion.

I love women and how strong, empathetic and smart we are.

I love that we give life and nurture others while kicking ass in every other area of human existence.

I refuse to let this movement take our divine feminism

Expand full comment

Intelligent debate. Brava, and I am exited to read the coming chapters. I have said for years so called left and right as we knew them are redundant. It took me time to open my horizons, listen more, judge less and l look back now on my 20s attitude as being so rigid. But of course I 101% knew I was right and would never change, not seeing how I boxed myself. It helps fuel my hope for the future that young women who seem completely captured won’t always be. I also like to talk to random people and if we differ... good. We all have stories - they help bind us, right?

Expand full comment

I am so pleased to see this discussion in print and with some respect. Lots for everyone to learn. But the first big lesson is that feminists insist on the capacity and praxis of risky dialogue. I find myself in need of new words to be able to enter this discussion. I may have to coin some words to complete my book on my own struggle so i know how difficult it is. I'll do my best to hang in for this discussion and try to add my own curiosity, intelligence and experience to the general pool on which we rely

Expand full comment